1st IEEE International Workshop on Networking Meets Databases (NetDB)
in cooperation with
21st IEEE Conference on Data Engineering (ICDE 2005)

April 8th and 9th, 2005
National Center of Science
Tokyo, Japan

Workshop Program

Friday, April 8, 2005

Session I: 1:30 - 2:20
Databases (Query Processing)
Session Chair: Amr El Abbadi (UCSB)

A Cost-Space Approach to Distributed Query Optimization in Stream Based Overlays
Jeffrey Shneidman (Harvard University), Peter Pietzuch (Harvard University), Matt Welsh (Harvard University), Margo Seltzer (Harvard University), Mema Roussopoulos (Harvard University)

Locality-Aware Networked Join Evaluation
Yanif Ahmad (Brown University), Ugur Cetintemel (Brown University), John Jannotti (Brown University), Alexander Zgolinski (Brown University)

Session II: 2:30 - 3:20
Networks (Measurements)
Session Chair: Dimitrios Gunopulos (UCR)

Advanced Indexing Techniques for Wide-Area Network Monitoring
Xin Li (USC), Fang Bian (USC), Hui Zhang (USC), Christophe Diot (Intel Research), Ramesh Govindan (USC), Wei Hong (Intel Research, Berkeley), Gianluca Iannaccone (Intel Research)

On stationarity in Internet measurements through an information-theoretic lens
Balachander Krishnamurthy (AT&T Labs - Research), Harsha Madhyastha (University of Washington), Suresh Venkatasubramanian (AT&T Labs - Research)

Panel: "Networking Meets Databases: Do we meet or merge?"
Participants: Karl Aberer (EPFL, Panel Chair), Amr El Abbadi (UCSB), Ramesh Jain (UCI), Dimitrios Gunopulos (UCR), Wei Hong (Intel Research, Berkeley)
3:30 - 5:30

Saturday, April 9, 2005

Invited Talk by Michael Franklin (UCB)
HiFi: Network-centric query processing in the physical world 9:00 - 10:00

Session III: 10:15 - 11:05
Peer-to-Peer Networks
Session Chair: Gustavo Alonso (ETH)

Best Effort Query Processing in DHT-based P2P Systems
Kai-Uwe Sattler (TU Ilmenau), Philipp Rösch (TU Ilmenau), Christian von der Weth (TU Ilmenau), Erik Buchmann (Uni Magdeburg)

On Small World Graphs in Non-uniformly Distributed Key Spaces
Sarunas Girdzijauskas (EPFL IC IIF LSIR), Anwitaman Datta (EPFL IC IIF LSIR), Karl Aberer (EPFL IC IIF LSIR)

Session IV: 11:15 - 12:30
Sensor Networks
Session Chair: Karl Aberer (EPFL)

Data Acquisition in Sensor Networks with Large Memories
Demetrios Zeinalipour-Yazti (UCR), Som Neema (UCR), Dimitrios Gunopulos (UCR), Vana Kalogeraki (UCR), Walid Najjar (UCR)

Provenance-Aware Sensor Data Storage
Jonathan Ledlie (Harvard University), Chaki Ng (Harvard University), David Holland (Harvard University), Kiran-Kumar Muniswamy-Reddy (Harvard University), Uri Braun (Harvard University), Margo Seltzer (Harvard University)

An Analysis of Spatio-Temporal Query Processing in Sensor Networks
Alexandru Coman (University of Alberta), Joerg Sander (University of Alberta), Mario Nascimento (University of Alberta)




Program Committee Co-Chairs:

Ramesh Govindan (USC)
Cyrus Shahabi (USC)

Invited Speaker:

Michael Franklin (UCB)

Program Committee Members:

  • Karl Aberer (EPFL)
  • Divyakant Agrawal (UCSB)
  • Gustavo Alonso (ETH)
  • Philippe Bonnet (Diku, Copenhagen)
  • John Byers (Boston Uiversity)
  • Ugur Cetintemel (Brown University)
  • Amr El Abbadi (UCSB)
  • Steve Gribble (University of Washington)
  • Wei Hong (Intel, Berkeley)
  • Vana Kalogeraki (UC Riverside)
  • Brad Karp (CMU)
  • Sam Madden (MIT)
  • Evaggelia Pitoura (University of Ioannina, Greece)
  • Mema Roussopoulos (Harvard University)
  • Scott Shenker (UCB, ICSI)
  • Ouri E. Wolfson (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Jim Xu (Georgia Tech)

Important Dates

Submissions due: November 22, 2004 (10:00 pm Pacific, Extended)
Notification of acceptance: January 10, 2005
Camera-ready copy due: February 4, 2005
Workshop: April 8 and 9, 2005